Telephone: (727) 873-4654 | Fax: (727) 873-4660 | Email: project10@stpete.usf.edu

Personnel Development and Training

Descriptions, Web sites, and contact information are provided below for 11 personnel development and training programs focused on improving school and transition outcomes for students with disabilities. Training and professional development may be provided to districts, schools, school and district administrators, special education teachers, interpreters and transliterators for the deaf, and other professionals. Contact information is also provided for the program liaison at the Bureau of Exceptional Education and Student Services in the Florida Department of Education.


Access to the Common Core for Exceptional Student Success (ACCESS) Project

Provides lesson planning, instructional tools and professional development in the Common Core Standards for teachers to support positive outcomes for students with significant cognitive disabilities taking the Florida Alternate Assessment.
   Bureau Liaison:  Jessica Brattain, jessica.brattain@fldoe.org
   Contact Person:  Randy LaRusso, larusso.randy@brevardschools.org

Accommodations and Modifications for Students with Disabilities
Project initiatives include training educators on best practices concerning individual educational plan (IEP) development, ensuring that students with disabilities have appropriate accommodations to help them succeed, and revising course descriptions for exceptional student education, grades 6-12.
   Bureau Liaison:  Bethany Mathers, Bethany.Mathers@fldoe.org
   Contact Person:  Marty Beech, mbeech@lsi.fsu.edu
   Website:  http://www.cpt.fsu.edu/ese/index.html

Critical Initiatives in Visual Impairment Project (CIVI)
This project provides teacher training that addresses the critical shortage of highly qualified personnel; effective practices in braille instruction; and the effective use of residual vision for learning by using low vision devices.
   Bureau Liaison:  Leanne Grillot, Leanne.Grillot@fldoe.org
   Contact Person:  Sandra Lewis, lewis@coe.fsu.edu 
   Website:  www.careersinblindness.com  

Educational Interpreters Project
Florida's Educational Interpreters Project is a state-funded initiative to improve the skills of K-12 interpreters and transliterators working with students who are deaf or hard of hearing.
   Bureau Liaison:  Leanne Grillot, Leanne.Grillot@fldoe.org
   Contact Person:  Len Roberson, len.roberson@unf.edu
   Website: http://www.interpreterproject.org/  

Institute for Small and Rural Districts (ISRD)
The mission of ISRD is to improve outcomes for students with disabilities in the thirty-four small and rural school districts through staff development, information dissemination, technical assistance, product development, and support for district initiatives.
   Bureau Liaison:  April Katine, april.katine@fldoe.org
   Contact Persons:  Renée Speisman, speismrf@sbac.edu 
                           Stephanie Simonds, simondss@nefec.org
   Website:  http://www.nefec.org/isrd/  

Partnership for Effective Programs for Students with Autism
The Statewide Centers for Autism and Related Disabilities (CARD) staff join together in partnership with Florida educators to provide training and technical assistance in developing a plan for implementing innovative and effective practices in the school environment.
   Bureau Liaison:  Diana McLendon, diana.mclendon@fldoe.org
   Contact Person:  Donna Casella, dcasella@fmhi.usf.edu
   Website:  http://doepartnership.usf.edu/  

Personnel Development Support Project

This project develops and provides technical support for multimedia products, including databases, websites, online courses, and other electronic and print materials that support the implementation of BEESS initiatives. Additionally, the project provides leadership to the State Personnel Development project through collaboration with state universities and colleges.
   Bureau Liaison:  Beth Moore, beth.moore@fldoe.org
   Contact Person:  Lezlie Cline, lezlie@fcim.org
   Website:  http://www.florida-ese.org/personneldevelopment/index.aspx

Positive Behavior Support: Response to Intervention for Behavior Project (PBS:RtIB)
This project is committed to building the capacity of school districts so that they may better assist schools to develop effective discipline, social skills teaching, and behavior support strategies for all students. The statewide Florida Positive Behavior Support Project, Florida Problem-Solving/RtI Project, and the Technology and Learning Connections for Assistive Technology and UDL Team, will work together to support district-wide implementation of an integrated (academic and behavior) data-based problem-solving system supported through technology.
   Bureau Liaison:  Curtis Williams, curtis.williams@fldoe.org 
                          Beth Moore, beth.moore@fldoe.org
   Contact Persons:  Donald Kincaid, kincaid@fmhi.usf.edu 
                          Heather George, hgeorge@usf.edu
   Website:  http://flpbs.fmhi.usf.edu/ 

Problem Solving and Response to Intervention State Project (PS/RtI)

This project facilitates the implementation of the problem-solving and response to intervention (PS-RtI) framework to improve academic and behavior outcomes statewide for at-risk general and special education students, and meets the goals of Florida’s Differentiated Accountability Plan. This project results in the high quality implementation of statewide training, technical assistance, and building sustainable capacity for the PS-RtIframework in all sixty-seven Florida school districts, with an emerging research focus on secondary level implementation. Thirty-four elementary pilot schools in seven demonstration districts, established over a three-year period by this project, are maintained in order to serve as resource and technical assistance sites to other districts for the implementation of the PS-RtIframework. The PBS: RtIB Project, PS/RtI Project, and the Technology & Learning Connections for Assistive Technology and UDL Team, will work together to support district-wide implementation of an integrated (academic and behavior) data-based problem-solving system supported through technology.
   Bureau Liaison:  Laurie Epps, laurie.epps@fldoe.org
   Contact Person:  George Batsche, Batsche@usf.edu
   Website:  http://www.floridarti.usf.edu/index.html  

Project 10: Transition Education Network

The mission of Project 10: Transition Education Network, hereinafter referred to as "Project 10," is to assist Florida school districts and relevant stakeholders in building capacity to provide secondary transition services to students with disabilities in order to improve their academic success and post-school outcomes.
   Bureau Liaison:  Judith White, Judith.White@fldoe.org 
   Contact Person:  L. Danielle Roberts-Dahm, lroberts@usfsp.edu                 
   Website:  http://www.project10.info 

State Personnel Development Project
This project supports initiatives that help to prepare and retain highly qualified personnel to provide instructional and related services to students with disabilities.  This includes tuition support to paraprofessionals enrolled in special education pre-service training programs, to ESE teachers earning an endorsement program in autism or prekindergarten disabilities, and speech/language teachers earning a master’s degree in speech/language pathology. Initiatives also include the development and provision of blended certification programs at state colleges. Through Working with the Experts, the project supports professional development activities for speech/language pathologists, teachers of students who are deaf or hard-of-hearing, and occupational therapists and physical therapists.
   Bureau Liaisons:  FGCU - Beth Moore, beth.moore@fldoe.org 
                           Putnam County School District - Laurie Epps, laurie.epps@fldoe.org 
                           USF (St. Petersburg) - Judy White, judy.white@fldoe.org
   Contact Person:  FGCU - Peg Sullivan, msulliva@fgcu.edu
                          Putnam - Mary Ann Ahearn, ahearnm@nefec.org 
                          USF - L. Danielle Roberts-Dahm, lroberts@usfsp.edu
   Websites:  http://www.flwwe.net/  

Technical Assistance and Training System for Programs Serving Young Children with Disabilities (TATS)
TATS is a statewide system of technical assistance and training that promotes high quality programs which lead to and support positive outcomes for prekindergarten children with disabilities and their families.
   Bureau Liaison:  Janie Register, janie.register@fldoe.org
   Contact Person:  Sandra Smith, sandra.smith@ucf.edu
   Website:  http://www.tats.ucf.edu/index.php 

 


Project 10: Transition Education Network
University of South Florida St. Petersburg
529 1st Street South, St. Petersburg, FL 33701