Student and Family Services

Descriptions, websites and contact information are provided below for 11 centers, programs and organizations that provide information, services and resources to students with disabilities and their families. Contact information is also provided for the program liaison at the Bureau of Exceptional Education and Student Services in the Florida Department of Education.

Visit the FDOE BEESS Discretionary Project page for a complete list of projects.

Centers for Autism and Related Disabilities (CARD)
The Centers for Autism & Related Disabilities are located at seven state universities and provide community-based information and consultation to individuals with autism spectrum disorders and related disabilities, their families, and school districts.
Diana McLendon, Bureau Liaison | diana.mclendon@fldoe.org

Directories of Services for Families with Children with Disabilities
The Directory of Services for Families with Children Who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing and the Directory of Services for Families with Children Who are Blind or Visually Impaired for 2013-2014 are available for order from Outreach Services for the Blind and Deaf at the Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind.
Downloadable order forms can be accessed here (pdf).
Questions? Contact Mark Keith | keithm@fsdb.k12.fl.us.

Family Café (Cooperation, Advocacy, Friendship and Empowerment)
The Family Café exists to provide individuals with disabilities and their families with an opportunity for collaboration, advocacy, friendship and empowerment by serving as a facilitator of communication, a space for dialogue and a source of information.
Aimiee Mallini, Bureau Liaison | aimee.mallini@fldoe.org
Lori Fahey, Contact Person | lfahey@familycafe.net
Vanessa Wright, Contact Person | wright@tcc.fl.edu

Florida Inclusion Network (FIN)
FIN provides learning opportunities, consultation, information, and support to educators, families, and community members resulting in the inclusion of all students.
Bethany Mathers, Bureau Liaison | bethany.mathers@fldoe.org

Florida Diagnostic and Learning Resources System Associate Centers (FDLRS)
The FDLRS Associate Centers provide diagnostic and instructional support services to district exceptional student education programs and families of students with exceptionalities statewide.
April Katine, Bureau Liaison | april.katine@fldoe.org

FDLRS Multidisciplinary Educational Service Centers
This network of five regional Multidisciplinary Educational Services Centers provides multidisciplinary diagnostic evaluations for pre-school and school-aged children with complex academic, medical, emotional and/or behavioral need. The Centers also provide technical assistance and consultation services to families, school and community agencies and pre-service and in-service training.
Diana McLendon, Bureau Liaison | diana.mclendon@fldoe.org

Region-specific websites:

FDLRS Technology State Loan Library (FDLRS TSLL)
Florida Diagnostic and Learning System provides support services to exceptional student education programs and families of students with exceptionalities statewide.
Anne Glass, Bureau Liaison | anne.Glass@fldoe.org
Phyllis Neal-Wilson, Contact Person | phyllis_neal-wilson@scps.k12.fl.us

Learning through Listening Project (LtL)
The purpose of this project is to provide digital audio textbooks and equipment to students who cannot read standard print due to visual, perceptual, physical, or learning disabilities. The project also facilitates support services and training to administrators, teachers, parents, and students on the use of this technology provided by Learning Ally (formerly Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic).
Trevis Killen, Bureau Liaison | trevis.killen@fldoe.org
Terrie Noland, Contact Person | tnoland@learningally.org

Multiagency Network for Students with Severe Emotional/Behavioral Disabilities (SEDNET)
SEDNET is devoted to facilitating the creation of a comprehensive "system of care" for high-risk students and students with emotional/behavioral disabilities and their families.
Anne Bozik, Bureau Liaison | anne.bozik@fldoe.org

Outreach Services for the Blind/Visually impaired and the Deaf/Hard-of-Hearing
Outreach Services provides support services to school district personnel, parents and families of children who are deaf or hard of hearing, or blind or visually impaired. Available support services include training, information, referral services, and student assessments.
Leanne Grillot, Bureau Liaison | leanne.grillot@fldoe.org
Carmelina Hollingsworth, Contact Person | chollingsworth@rmftocosbd.org

Parents Educating Parents in the Community (PEP)
PEP provides information, training, and support to parents of children with disabilities in select isolated, rural areas of Florida.
Aimee Mallini, Bureau Liaison | aimee.mallini@fldoe.org
Rich La Belle, Contact Person | richlabelle@fndusa.org

Project 10: Transition Education Network
The mission of Project 10: Transition Education Network, hereinafter referred to as "Project 10," is to assist Florida school districts and relevant stakeholders in building capacity to provide secondary transition services to students with disabilities in order to improve their academic success and post-school outcomes.
Wendy Metty, Bureau Liaison | wendy.metty@fldoe.org
L. Danielle Roberts-Dahm, Contact Person | lroberts@usfsp.edu

Student Support Services Project
Student Support Services staff are charged with facilitating the development of critical support services programs so that observable and measurable indicators of success are achieved. This is accomplished through the provision of technical assistance, training, research, resource development, and policy development and interpretation to local and state educators and parents.
Heidi Metcalf, Bureau Liaison | heidi.metcalf@fldoe.org
Heather Diamond, Contact Person | heather.diamond@fldoe.org