Monroe
District Resources

Monroe County resources related to the transition of students with disabilities are provided in multiple categories in the box to the right. Some resources may be included in more than one category.

Local School District Resources

Monroe County School District - Exceptional Student Education

ESE & Student Services 
Dr. Lesley Thompson, Director | lesley.thompson@keysschools.com 
305) 293-1400 ext. 53378 

ESE Transition Specialist & Parent Liaison 
Linda Diaz, Specialist | linda.diaz@keysschools.com 
(305) 293-1400 ext. 53375 

ESE Program Specialist 
Catherine Kanagy, Specialist | catherine.kanagy@keysschools.com 
(305) 293-1400 ext. 53374 

Department of Juvenile Justice
Geoff Peattie, Transition Contact | Geoff.Peattie@keysschools.com  
(305) 293-1549
Supports youth returning from DJJ programs to re-enter school, assists with transferring and receiving educational records and provides information to districts on local school options for returning DJJ students

Florida Diagnostic and Learning Resources System (FDLRS)
Carmen Molinaris, Lead Curriculum Support Specialist/Human Resources Development | cmolinaris@dadeschools.net  
Linda Diaz, FDLRS Parent Liaison for Monroe County | linda.diaz@keysschools.com 
305) 293-1400 ext. 53375 | (305) 274-3501  
Provides diagnostic and instructional support services to district exceptional student education programs and families of students with exceptionalities statewide.

Monroe County Community Resource Guide

Monroe County Flow Chart of Agencies and Servies for Persons with Disabilities

Monroe Transition Supports Brochure

Multiagency Network for Students with Emotional/Brehavioral Disabilities (SEDNET) 
Dolores Vega, Project Manager | dvega@dadeschools.net
(305) 598-2436
SEDNET is devoted to facilitating the creation of a comprehensive "system of care" for high-risk students and students with emotional disabilities and their families.

TIES (Transition to Independence, Employment and Success) Program   
Ruth Holland | ruth.holland@keysschools.com 
(305) 292-7178 
Key West High School vocational training program located at Sigbee Naval Base for students ages 18-22. Naval Air Station Key West and the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation are partners. Ties Program Celebration 2018 captures a fantastic year in review for the students and what makes the program so special to them.

Florida District Map
South Florida - Purple Region - 5