Polk
District Resources

Polk County resources related to the transition of students with disabilities are provided in multiple categories in the box to the right. Some resources may be included in more than one category.

Local School District Resources

Polk County Public School District - Exceptional Student Education

Exceptional Student Education Director
Diane Taylor | diane.taylor@polk-fl.net
(863) 535-6485 ext.441

Exceptional Student Education Senior Manager/Transition Contact
Tiffany Kitchens | tiffany.kitchens@polk-fl.net
(863) 499-2826

Student Services Director
Sherry Scott | sherry.scott@polk-fl.net
(863) 535-5975 ext. 489

Department of Juvenile Justice
Monifia Neal, Transition Contact | monifia.neal@polk-fl.net
(863) 457-4970   
Supports youth returning from DJJ programs to re-enter school, assists with transferring and receiving educational records and provides information to districts on local school options for returning DJJ students

Florida Diagnostic and Learning Resources System (FDLRS)
Dr. Poinsetta Tillman | poinsetta.tillman@polk-fl.net
(863) 647-4258
Provides diagnostic and instructional support services to district exceptional student education programs and families of students with exceptionalities statewide

Multiagency Network for Students with Emotional Disabilities (SEDNET)
Maegan Neely | Maegan.neely@polk-fl.net
(863) 535-5975
Enhances the system of care for families and students with emotional disabilities through facilitation, collaboration and direct intervention, as well as research and development, with a network of key stakeholders

Florida District Map
East Central Florida - Green Region - 3